Did You Get a DUI in Florida but Live in Another State?
No matter where you live or where you drive, getting charged with driving under the influence (DUI) offense is a big deal. In fact, because the legal blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limit for operation of a motor vehicle is .08 percent or below in all states (with the exception of Utah, with a limit of .05 percent), there is not a state in the nation where it is legal to drink and drive.
But while you may know that drinking and driving is against the law regardless of where you are in the United States, you might not know what will happen if you get charged with a DUI in Florida, but don’t actually live in Florida. Here’s an overview of what you need to know about out-of-state DUI offenses–
Interstate Driver License Compact
The Interstate Driver License Compact (DLC) is an agreement between participating states (all states with the exceptions of Georgia, Massachusetts, Nevada, Tennessee, Michigan, and Wisconsin) that holds that jurisdictions will be open in exchanging information with one another, and report out-of-state convictions. In most cases, member states also recognize penalties (such as driver’s license suspensions) that are issued by another state.
As such, if you are charged with a DUI in Florida, there is a very strong chance that Florida will report the DUI to your home state, and your home state will penalize you under its own laws. If the state of Florida requests that your license is suspended, it is also likely that your own state will adhere to this request.
Facing Penalties in Florida
While the state of Florida may not have the right to suspend your actual license (only your driving privileges), you may face other penalties under Florida law. For example, jail time, fines, and a prohibition from driving within Florida are all very possible. The extent of action that will be taken against you by the state of Florida will likely depend upon the severity of your DUI, but you can be sure that if there is evidence against you that is strong enough to convict you of the crime, there will be consequences.
Talk to an Experienced DUI Attorney if Charged in Florida
If you are charged with a DUI in the state of Florida, it is important that you consult with an experienced DUI attorney who is licensed to practice in Florida; if you are from out-of-state, working with an out-of-state attorney who does not hold a Florida license will not do you any good. You need an attorney who is familiar with Florida’s laws, and can guide you through the potential consequences you may face if convicted of a DUI. A talented attorney can also help you to build a defense and build your case.
To schedule a free consultation with the DUI attorneys at the Law Offices of Mark G. Rodriguez, P.A., call our law firm directly, or send us a message with a brief description of your case. We urge you to act quickly – the sooner you take action, the better chances you have of preserving your best interests.